Enola Ranger and the alien

Image

“Enola Ranger. This is the Edmund Fitzgerald. Prepare for boarding. Enola Ranger. This is the Edmund Fitzgerald. Prepare for boarding. Enola Ranger…..”

Harry was startled out of a deep sleep dreaming about fried eggs again–he could actually smell them. He’d never eaten a fried egg in his life. Most of the inner planets had gone vegan and the raising and consumption of animals and their by-products was illegal by Hegemony standards. Still, the Hege had a hard time controlling the outer planets. With that thought, Harry quickly got on the COM and ordered their non-vegan supplies stashed. Luckily they had already dropped off the contraband order of sheep to the town of Brimstone on Geyser.

Harry was running towards the Bridge when he was surprised by the ship’s passenger suddenly appearing before him. Ellen Marple was a middle-age, fashion-unconscious, Geochemical Engineer who Harry had picked up in Brimstone.

“Harry, I need to tell you something….”

“Can’t talk right now, Ellen. We’re gonna’ be boarded and I have to stop that from happening.”

“That is what I want to tell you. The ship is friendly. They are my friends here for rendezvous with your ship.”

“You never mentioned any rendezvous, Ellen. Now, that’s not friendly of you. I took you in, out of concern for you in that stinking, sulfur-ridden town. My kindness is non-disposable.”

“Harry…Captain, I paid you triple the passenger fare, and more for transport of my instruments and tools.” Harry could hear Ellen’s footfalls on the gangway as she tried to keep up with his long legs.

“You signed on for Penelope and I mean to take you there.”

“Well…it looks like a Hege ship to me, Ellen. Get off my Bridge.  WILL SOMEONE TURN OFF THAT COM? It’s freaking annoying. Goldie, think you can outrun it?”

“Sure.”

“Captain…Harry, they are here to…well, they are here to pick me up. Sorry, I did not tell you. I was afraid you would not take me. Please let the Captain board and she will explain.”

“And, you’ll remove that frumpy disguise you’re wearing, revealing you’re a warrior princess leading some invasion of the Hege home world and we’ll all live happily ever after.  Or…or, my crew and I are in cryo tubes on our way to twenty to life on Fergie and this is just a frozen dream of six human popsicles.  Am I getting close, Ellen?”

“We need your help and your ship.”

“No one’s taking my ship, Ellen.”

“I think you’re all asses. That is not a Hege ship, folks.”

Whenever he could, Macbeth, the ship’s engineer, would contradict Harry. Usually Harry threw him off the Bridge. Goldie, the ship’s pilot, was running a scan on the other ship and intervened before Harry lost his temper….

“Captain, he’s right. That’s not a Hege ship. At least, not anymore. Scan shows too many deviations in design outside and in. The signatures on some of those weapons are weird. I’ve never seen anything like it, Captain. There is a stockpile of those things”. Goldie pointed to the scan.

“Oh, those are old-fashion rockets–missiles. Your friends rocket thieves, Ellen?”

“The missiles are for a very specific application, Harry. The ship has been reconfigured into an alien design.”

“So, Ellen, your friends are aliens?” Harry tried to keep his emotions from causing him to throttle the woman.”

“No, Harry. I am the alien.” Ellen gave Harry a big smile. Harry’s crew broke out in laughter.

“Well, well, Ellen. You’re our first alien. In all this time that humanity has been in this solar system and back on Old Earth we’ve never come across any little green men.”

“Captain, there was Roswell,” offered Goldie. “I forget where Roswell was.”

“Right, okay. Goldie, tell that ship to come about and umbilical to us. Might as well let them do all the work.”

“Thank you, Captain.”

“Don’t thank me yet, alien Ellen.”

“I don’t think that’s such a good idea, Captain. I mean, what if they’re really ugly and dangerous like…giant centipedes or somethin’?”

“Well, Scoop, you are Security while Chen’s away, so I guess you could be handcuffing centipedes. Hope you have enough handcuffs.”

“Scoop, did you not hear that the ship’s crew is not alien? Ellen is the alien.”

“I don’t buy that, Macbeth. She looks just like us.”

Everyone stared at Ellen, examining her with their eyes. They looked at her face, her hands, her feet. Then Harry started barking orders:

“This stinks worse than Scoop’s armpits. Scoop, I want you heavily armed….”

“I’m always heavily armed, Harry.”

“I want Ellen searched down to her dainties. Take her to sick bay and have Pina search her, Scoop. You know the drill. Be careful. Where’s Aldo? Someone find him, get him up to speed. Goldie, wait until they’ve maneuvered for egress–catch them with their pants down–then go to manual and full burn–take us wherever you fancy. Make it random. Macbeth, return to the engine room and make sure Enola  is at max power. All right, ladies, let’s go! We’re not moving mountains here!”

To be continued….

Inspiration Monday: Handcuffing Centipedes  at Be Kind Rewrite
Prompts:  handcuffing centipedes, non-disposable, rocket thieves, twenty to life, moving mountains
Photo Credit: Mythcreants
Word Count: 840

Thanks to Stephanie Orges at Be Kind Rewrite for hosting Inspiration Monday, every week, endlessly, with no relief in sight.

Image

Stephanie’s Day Job.

Image Image

About

When I was a kid I wanted to be an "atomic" scientist. Not anything my mother expected of me. Well, I became a scientist, just not an atomic one.

Tagged with: , , ,
Posted in adventure, fiction, humor, inspiration monday, sci-fi
4 comments on “Enola Ranger and the alien
  1. I’m a big Firefly fan, so this was quite a fun read. I also got a huge kick out of that last picture. I didn’t realize I was such a badass. Maybe I should try out for bountyhunting. 😉

    • Lucy says:

      I tried not to be too “Firefly” but it’s so hard not to. I mean, Harry is so Mal and Scoop is so Jane. Do you know the significance of Enola? Besides meaning “alone” backwards, the Enola Gay was the bomber that dropped the bomb on Hiroshima.
      I thought you were a bounty hunter during the day? I’m sorry, did I get that wrong?

      I love “Firefly”. I’m going through the episodes again, on Hulu. They only had one season!

      Lucy

      • Cancelled far before its time. I’m assuming you’ve seen the movie, too? It certainly helps provide some closure. PLUS, Alan Tudyk and Nathan Fillion are making a web series called “Con Man” about actors from a cancelled sci-fi series who now travel the conference circuit. It looks fantastic.

        I did not know that about “Enola”! Clever detail.

      • Lucy says:

        The movie, “Serenity”. I’ve been looking for it. Hulu doesn”t have it any longer, but it is on Youtube or Amazon, I’m sure. I’ve seen it maybe 2 or 3 times. “Con Man” sounds great. You know, they didn’t have to kill off Alan Tudyk–that wasn’t necessary. Lucy

Seriously, tell me what you think

IMAGINATION WILL OFTEN CARRY US TO WORLDS THAT NEVER WERE. BUT WITHOUT IT WE GO NOWHERE.
Carl Sagan

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 154 other followers

Follow Sapient Chronicles on WordPress.com
Categories
Archives
Follow Sapient Chronicles on WordPress.com
Copyright Notice

© [Lucy Conrad] and [Sapient Chronicles], [2015-2016]. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to [Lucy Conrad] and [Sapient Chronicles] with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

June 2015
M T W T F S S
« May   Aug »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  

100 POSTS 9/08/14

Follow Sapient Chronicles on WordPress.com
Blog Stats
  • 4,224 hits
Legal Stuff

Creative Commons License
The Sapient Chronicles by Lucy Conrad is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivatives 4.0 International License.
Based on a work at conradlucy.wordpress.com.
Permissions beyond the scope of this license may be available at conradlucy.wordpress.com.

YeahWrite

Where your words matter.

Mrs Reckless Writes

Fiction, Almost-Truths & Not-Poetry

Bradscribe

A fine WordPress.com site

Habitat for Heavy Hearts

Small, Thoughtful Moments

Cognitive Reflection

Random Thoughts and Musings from London Town

Claire Fuller

Writing and art

Live to Write - Write to Live

We live to write and write to live ... professional writers talk about the craft and business of writing

Notes Tied On The Sagebrush

Writing About Life

BOOKING IT

Debra's Excellent Adventures in Reading and Travel

countingducks

reflections on a passing life

Hangaku Gozen

For we cannot tarry here, We must march my darlings

Anne Higa

Out-of-this-World Fantasy Author

bekindrewrite

write unto others as you would have them write unto you

This is Another Story

About life, fantasy, and everything in between

castelsarrasin

The work and activities of a writer/bargee

Yarnspinnerr

Just Fiction and other things that seem fictitious.

Odyssey of a Novice Writer

Aspiring novelist. Avid reader of fiction. Reviewer of books. By day, my undercover identity is that of meek, mild-mannered legal assistant, Kate Loveton, working in the confines of a stuffy corporate law office; by night, however, I'm a super hero: Kate Loveton, Aspiring Novelist and Spinner of Tales. My favorite words are 'Once upon a time... ' Won't you join me on my journey as I attempt to turn a hobby into something more?

First Night Design

Art, Design, Theatre, Literature, History, Food, Laughter ...

The Zombie Blog

Surviving The Zombie Apocalypse

Ray Ferrer - Emotion on Canvas

** OFFICIAL Site of Artist Ray Ferrer **

Don Charisma

because anything is possible with Charisma

Hacker.Ninja.Hooker.Spy.

Some mistakes are too good not to share

Ben's Bitter Blog

"We make bitter better."

belsbror

Simple Living

Leaning on the Son

Inspired by Faith, Hope, Love and Him

Capture You Photography

Texas Style Portraits

Flamingo Dancer's Blog

If I am a goddess why are my feet stuck in the trenches?

Ned's Blog

Humor at the Speed of Life

Adventures in Wonderland

a pilgrimage of the heart

The Brantley Blog

In the eyes of the law, we reach adulthood the day we turn 18 years old. God help anyone who actually believes that.

Pouring My Art Out

Ripping out my guts for your entertainment

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

Mostly Bright Ideas

Some of these thoughts may make sense. But don't count on it.

A slight obsession with books

Reading and Fibrecrafts

Bad Anemone Press

Science is Funny by Dr. Jim Garvey

Thain in Vain

Mind the Glitches

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

