Holding Company

he_is_the_twilight_zone_by_healer-d5ubjox

***
Meet Lorna May Hewett and Nadine Landry. They are not only best friends, but also cousins.  The two young women are going to face an event that will test their friendship. Nadine and Lorna May will drive themselves right into Big Brother’s dirty little business. The place: a small town in the South, sometime in the 1950’s.  Nadine and Lorna May have entered The FIFTH DIMENSION.

***
“Nadine, Nadine? Was that a size six?  I think Idelle said six.  Do you remember? Nadine?”

“I swear, Lorna May, I am going to slap you…I swear.  If you can not remember ONE, LITTLE, NUMBER, then for pity’s sake, write it down.”

“I did.  I did write it down, Nadine–in that tiny notebook you gave me to write things down I could forget.”

“Well, good on you, Lorna May. Then why are you asking?”

“I left my notebook…I forgot it at Idelle’s.”

“No matter, Lorna May. I can tell her size. She looks to be a size eight.”

“Now I remember. I wrote a size six, like Idelle said, but I wrote to get a size eight and something with sleeves to cover the flabby parts.”

“Well now, Lorna May. I am sure that when Idelle sees your note she will be impressed with your attention to detail.”

“Are you teasing me, Nadine?  It’s all my fault. I am truly sorry that our friendship with Idelle Boudreau is compromised.”

“I do not think that you are sorry, Lorna May.  I think you sabotage me on purpose. Stop fussing with your hair.”

“Well, do we shop for her birthday present or not, Nadine? Are we going to her party, tomorrow? What would Miss Manners do in a case like this?”

“Desperate times call for desperate measures. We leave town. We can go to Lake Pontchartrain and visit with Aunt Patty.  We’ll take your car, Lorna May. I hate driving that Caddy–it’s like driving an aircraft carrier.”

“Can we go sun fishing, Nadine? The Buick can easily pull the trailer with my little sail boat.”

“Sometimes I think you swim in an idea soup, Lorna May. Nix that idea. We cannot seem to be going on holiday. We are visiting an ailing relative. Anyway, Aunt Patty has all those aquatic thing-a-ma-bobs, so get that pout off your face, Lorna May.”

“We should not say Aunt Patty is sick, Nadine–it’s bad luck.”

“Oh, for pity’s sake, Lorna May, there is no such thing.”

Nadine and Lorna May packed as if going on Safari–minus the elephant gun–though Nadine always took her Colt .45  on road trips.  With the top down on Lorna May’s new  Buick, they headed out-of-town–waving and calling out to folk–assuring they had witnesses to their “emergency” departure.

The picturesque town was bisected by railroad tracks which the citizens took as an effrontery by the railroad to divide the township. Still, there was no leaving town without crossing those tracks. The crossing lights warned of a train coming  and Lorna May and Nadine sat in the convertible, patiently waiting for the train to pass…chatting away and singing to the radio. Now, the women had no idea that this particular train was carrying radioactive waste through the state. Nor did they know that the engineer was unable to slow down going around the sharp curve entering the town, as was the policy of the railroad….
***

Two days later

“Lorna May, will you please stop crying over there. You are ruining my narcotic mood. Are you in pain? Do you require a piece of paper or plasma?”

“No, I’m fine.”

“Well, what is wrong, Lorna May?  We’re alive–some broken bones between us–but we are alive and taking morphine. You saved our lives by backing up the Buick full throttle. We would be dead if you had not done that, Lorna May.”

“It was you, Nadine–you saw the railroad car flip, way down the track.  I was just singing along with Elvis and fixing my hair.  I am not crying because of my broken arm–your broken leg or that we are in isolation after being contaminated by atomic trash. It’s my Buick, Nadine. I loved that car.”

“Oh, for pity’s sake, Lorna May. Stop fussing with your hair. So we glow in the dark. Is that so bad?  What you need is a good fight’s sleep, Lorna May.  The railroad is going to buy you another car–whatever you want. They are giving me a new car as well.”

“What kind of car, Nadine?”

“Oh Lordy, they are buying me a Mercedes-Benz.  And, though our friends all drive Porches, the railroad must make amends….”

“Look, Nadine. It’s little cousin Pearl, waving at us from the other side of the glass. Wave to her Nadine. Hi, sweetie!  Thank you for coming to visit. Just push that button to talk….”

“Oh, for pity’s sake, Lorna May. The girl’s not stupid. She can see the button.  Hi, Miss Pearl!  You look so grown up.  What have you done with your hair?”

***
Inspiration Monday: Sun Fishing
Prompts:  Sun fishing, idea soup, a good fight’s sleep, desperate measures, paper or plasma”
Word Count:  829
Photo:  Rod Serling, “Twilight Zone”

Special thanks to psychedelic Stephanie Orges for hosting Inspiration Monday at Be Kind Rewrite

Who’s Pearl?

ImageImage

ImageImage

About

When I was a kid I wanted to be an "atomic" scientist. Not anything my mother expected of me. Well, I became a scientist, just not an atomic one.

Tagged with: , , , , , , ,
Posted in 1950's, atomic, fiction, humor, inspiration monday, luck, nostalgia, superstition, Weird
7 comments on “Holding Company
  1. Doobster418 says:

    “Oh Lordy, they are buying me a Mercedes-Benz. And, though our friends all drive Porches, the railroad must make amends….” Excellent!

  2. Haha, super cute. They seem like fun ladies. Glowing in the dark, mourning the Buick! Enjoyed it!

Seriously, tell me what you think

IMAGINATION WILL OFTEN CARRY US TO WORLDS THAT NEVER WERE. BUT WITHOUT IT WE GO NOWHERE.
Carl Sagan

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 155 other followers

Follow Sapient Chronicles on WordPress.com
Categories
Archives
Follow Sapient Chronicles on WordPress.com
Copyright Notice

© [Lucy Conrad] and [Sapient Chronicles], [2015-2016]. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to [Lucy Conrad] and [Sapient Chronicles] with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

December 2014
M T W T F S S
« Nov   Jan »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

100 POSTS 9/08/14

Follow Sapient Chronicles on WordPress.com
Blog Stats
  • 4,213 hits
Legal Stuff

Creative Commons License
The Sapient Chronicles by Lucy Conrad is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivatives 4.0 International License.
Based on a work at conradlucy.wordpress.com.
Permissions beyond the scope of this license may be available at conradlucy.wordpress.com.

YeahWrite

Where your words matter.

Nothing Gilded, Nothing Gained-Period Drama on Paper at Middlemay Farm

Fiction Books, History, Memoir by Adrienne Morris

Mrs Reckless Writes

Fiction, Almost-Truths & Not-Poetry

Bradscribe

A fine WordPress.com site

Habitat for Heavy Hearts

Small, Thoughtful Moments

Cognitive Reflection

Random Thoughts and Musings from London Town

Claire Fuller

Writing and art

Live to Write - Write to Live

We live to write and write to live ... professional writers talk about the craft and business of writing

Notes Tied On The Sagebrush

Writing About Life

BOOKING IT

Debra's Excellent Adventures in Reading and Travel

countingducks

reflections on a passing life

Hangaku Gozen

For we cannot tarry here, We must march my darlings

Anne Higa

Out-of-this-World Fantasy Author

bekindrewrite

write unto others as you would have them write unto you

This is Another Story

About life, fantasy, and everything in between

castelsarrasin

The work and activities of a writer/bargee

Yarnspinnerr

Just Fiction and other things that seem fictitious.

Odyssey of a Novice Writer

Aspiring novelist. Avid reader of fiction. Reviewer of books. By day, my undercover identity is that of meek, mild-mannered legal assistant, Kate Loveton, working in the confines of a stuffy corporate law office; by night, however, I'm a super hero: Kate Loveton, Aspiring Novelist and Spinner of Tales. My favorite words are 'Once upon a time... ' Won't you join me on my journey as I attempt to turn a hobby into something more?

First Night Design

Art, Design, Theatre, Literature, History, Food, Laughter ...

Enchanted Seashells by Princess Rosebud

Beguiling pearls of wit, wisdom, and whimsy-with attitude

The Zombie Blog

Surviving The Zombie Apocalypse

Ray Ferrer - Emotion on Canvas

** OFFICIAL Site of Artist Ray Ferrer **

Don Charisma

because anything is possible with Charisma

Hacker.Ninja.Hooker.Spy.

Some mistakes are too good not to share

Sonya Lira Photography

Texas Style Photography

Ben's Bitter Blog

"We make bitter better."

belsbror

Simple Living

Leaning on the Son

Inspired by Faith, Hope, Love and Him

Capture You Photography

Texas Style Portraits

Flamingo Dancer's Blog

If I am a goddess why are my feet stuck in the trenches?

Ned's Blog

Humor at the Speed of Life

Adventures in Wonderland

a pilgrimage of the heart

The Brantley Blog

In the eyes of the law, we reach adulthood the day we turn 18 years old. God help anyone who actually believes that.

Pouring My Art Out

Ripping out my guts for your entertainment

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

Mostly Bright Ideas

Some of these thoughts may make sense. But don't count on it.

A slight obsession with books

Reading and Fibrecrafts

Bad Anemone Press

Science is Funny by Dr. Jim Garvey

Thain in Vain

Mind the Glitches

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

