Reflections on a Six Shooter

 

Image

Copyright – Janet Webb

***

Jack Quate walked into the Lucky Lady and sidled up to the bar. Bart Blackey was at the other end.

“Barkeep…whiskey, two fingers.”

“I thought you was a teetotaler, Quate.  Smiley–put it on my tab.”

“Much obliged, Blackey. I can buy my own whiskey.”

“I were just tryin’ to be neighborly, half-breed.”

“Now there you go and ruin it.”  Quate could see Blackey’s flunky in the bar mirror–six-shooter drawn.

His gun drawn–Quate spun round–shot him  in the chest;  turned and shot Blackey between the eyes before he could shoot.

“Go’n get the Sheriff, Smiley…tell him I got the last one.”

***
Image

Image

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

It’s a tradition that dates back to the Old West. Mirrors were put up behind the bar, so that anyone enjoying a quiet drink would know if and when someone was approaching from behind them. It basically let you see if you were about to be shot in the back of the head (strangequestions.com).
***

Friday Fictioneers at Addicted to Purple
Photo Prompt:  Copyright Janet Webb
Saloon photo credit:  legendsofamerica.com
Word Count:  100
Many thanks to Rochelle Wisoff-Fields for hosting Friday Fictioneers

Image

 

 

 

 

 

About

When I was a kid I wanted to be an "atomic" scientist. Not anything my mother expected of me. Well, I became a scientist, just not an atomic one.

Tagged with: , , , , ,
Posted in fiction, flash fiction, Friday Fictioneers, humor, Old West, Six Shooter
27 comments on “Reflections on a Six Shooter
  1. Kate Loveton says:

    Another tale of the Old West! The explanation re the mirrors in saloons was quite interesting. Good job!

  2. That was was brilliant, interesting, mind-boggling. You must be like the Queen of the Old West or something? 😛

  3. Grace says:

    🙂 Little bit of history, good to know. I heard that’s also why they always wanted to sit with their backs against the walls looking out into the room. Nice job.

  4. yarnspinnerr says:

    Great job and the little history is very welcome.

  5. Pardner, that was a mighty fine story. Ya’ll come back now next week, ya hear?

    janet

    • Lucy says:

      I thunk you’d liken it. I can tell a mighty fine filly when I know’d her like I know’d you. Next week same time same place, hey sweetheart? And a whole lot of thank yous for comin’ by. Lucy

  6. Nan Falkner says:

    Dear Lucy, I really love your story – it’s so good! There is a bar – just like this one – in Nashville, TN and I’ve been there and sat on the bar (and didn’t break it)! Good job!
    Nan 🙂

    • Lucy says:

      Thanks, Nan. Westerns and Carnie stories are fun to do. I’m from New Mexico–that’s where Billy the Kid got into trouble with the law for his part in the Lincoln County War, which was actually a feud. I love stuff like that and John Wayne played in so many of the westerns. I haven’t based any characters on him–yet/ Thanks again, Nan. Lucy

  7. Ah.. Yes I think that having a mirror to be able to see if people sneak up on you is a great idea.. with or without guns.

    • Lucy says:

      Thanks. Apparently, the modern reason for the mirror is so the bartender, when his back is turned, can keep an eye on anyone trying to run out without paying. But, now they use cameras. Thanks for coming by. Lucy

  8. Great.I can’t remember reading any western tales in Friday Fictioneers before.
    Good job.
    Remind me though not to buy you a drink, cowboy

    Randy

    • Lucy says:

      Thanks. This is my second western story. I wrote another on Sept 5th “It happened in Texas”. I have fun with westerns. Shucks. You won’t buy me a drink, partner? Well, I will buy you one of them shots and a warm beer. Lucy

  9. Dear Lucy,

    Brilliant, mind-boggling…well shucks. I thought I’d turned on Turner Classics for a moment there. Lou Diamond Phillips would make a good Quate. See? You got my imagination churning? I loved the explanation of the mirror behind the bar. Good horse-sense. Bravo! I give it a 21-gun salute.

    Shalom,

    Rochelle

    • Lucy says:

      I knew you would recognize a brilliant and mind-boggling story. Don’t you just love those six guns? Yes, I had not thought of Lou Diamond Phillips, but he would make a great fit. Oh, and if the Sheriff had shown up, it would have to be Sheriff Longmire. Thanks for the 21 gun salute–it was rather loud. Lucy

  10. Lucy, Great western story. Thanks to my dad, I don’t think Mom and I ever missed a good western movie, or TV show for that matter. He also loved reading magazines about the real Old West with old photos provided. Well written as usual. 🙂 —Susan

    • Lucy says:

      Why, thank you. My mother never missed a western. When she first started visiting me in New Mexico, she was afraid to go on a reservation. I had to assure her that they didn’t want her scalp. Thanks for the kudos. Always happy to hear from you. Lucy

  11. Watch your back, Lucy! Good story.

  12. Such a great story, a adore western.

Seriously, tell me what you think

IMAGINATION WILL OFTEN CARRY US TO WORLDS THAT NEVER WERE. BUT WITHOUT IT WE GO NOWHERE.
Carl Sagan

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 154 other followers

Follow Sapient Chronicles on WordPress.com
Categories
Archives
Follow Sapient Chronicles on WordPress.com
Copyright Notice

© [Lucy Conrad] and [Sapient Chronicles], [2015-2016]. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to [Lucy Conrad] and [Sapient Chronicles] with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

September 2014
M T W T F S S
« Aug   Oct »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  

100 POSTS 9/08/14

Follow Sapient Chronicles on WordPress.com
Blog Stats
  • 4,260 hits
Legal Stuff

Creative Commons License
The Sapient Chronicles by Lucy Conrad is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivatives 4.0 International License.
Based on a work at conradlucy.wordpress.com.
Permissions beyond the scope of this license may be available at conradlucy.wordpress.com.

YeahWrite

Where your words matter.

Mrs Reckless Writes

Fiction, Almost-Truths & Not-Poetry

Bradscribe

A fine WordPress.com site

Habitat for Heavy Hearts

Small, Thoughtful Moments

Cognitive Reflection

Random Thoughts and Musings from London Town

Claire Fuller

Writing and art

Live to Write - Write to Live

We live to write and write to live ... professional writers talk about the craft and business of writing

Notes Tied On The Sagebrush

Writing About Life

BOOKING IT

Debra's Excellent Adventures in Reading and Travel

countingducks

reflections on a passing life

Hangaku Gozen

For we cannot tarry here, We must march my darlings

Anne Higa

Out-of-this-World Fantasy Author

bekindrewrite

write unto others as you would have them write unto you

This is Another Story

About life, fantasy, and everything in between

castelsarrasin

The work and activities of a writer/bargee

Yarnspinnerr

Just Fiction and other things that seem fictitious.

Odyssey of a Novice Writer

Aspiring novelist. Avid reader of fiction. Reviewer of books. By day, my undercover identity is that of meek, mild-mannered legal assistant, Kate Loveton, working in the confines of a stuffy corporate law office; by night, however, I'm a super hero: Kate Loveton, Aspiring Novelist and Spinner of Tales. My favorite words are 'Once upon a time... ' Won't you join me on my journey as I attempt to turn a hobby into something more?

First Night Design

Art, Design, Theatre, Literature, History, Food, Laughter ...

Enchanted Seashells by Princess Rosebud

Beguiling pearls of wit, wisdom, and whimsy-with attitude

The Zombie Blog

Surviving The Zombie Apocalypse

Ray Ferrer - Emotion on Canvas

** OFFICIAL Site of Artist Ray Ferrer **

Don Charisma

because anything is possible with Charisma

Hacker.Ninja.Hooker.Spy.

Some mistakes are too good not to share

Ben's Bitter Blog

"We make bitter better."

belsbror

Simple Living

Leaning on the Son

Inspired by Faith, Hope, Love and Him

Capture You Photography

Texas Style Portraits

Flamingo Dancer's Blog

If I am a goddess why are my feet stuck in the trenches?

Ned's Blog

Humor at the Speed of Life

Adventures in Wonderland

a pilgrimage of the heart

The Brantley Blog

In the eyes of the law, we reach adulthood the day we turn 18 years old. God help anyone who actually believes that.

Pouring My Art Out

Ripping out my guts for your entertainment

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

Mostly Bright Ideas

Some of these thoughts may make sense. But don't count on it.

A slight obsession with books

Reading and Fibrecrafts

Bad Anemone Press

Science is Funny by Dr. Jim Garvey

Thain in Vain

Flash Fiction Writer

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

