It Happened in Texas

Image

“Howdy. Have room for one more by that fire?”

“Sit yourself down, Stranger. Coffee’s over there–help yourself.”

“Much obliged.  I gather I’m in Texas.”

“That you are.  You walkin’?  Didn’t hear no horse.”

“He’s real quiet”.  The Stranger whistled and a Paint walked out of the darkness.

“Nice horse, Stranger.  I wouldn’t mind you giving him to me.”

“Now why would I want to do that?”

“My boys have their six guns on you.”

The Stranger sipped his coffee, and between swallows, drew his gun, and shot all three–never spilling his coffee.

“Seems Texas needs a better class of people.”

***

ImageImage
Friday Fictioneers  at Addicted to Purple
Photo Prompt:   Copyright Rochelle Wisoff-Fields
Word Count:  100

Thanks to Rochelle Wisoff-Fields for hosting Friday FictioneersImage

About

When I was a kid I wanted to be an "atomic" scientist. Not anything my mother expected of me. Well, I became a scientist, just not an atomic one.

Posted in humor
23 comments on “It Happened in Texas
  1. Doobster418 says:

    Imagine a world without Texas. I love it. I lived in Texas for a few years. In Dallas. I managed to get out alive and in one piece.

    • Lucy says:

      I lived in Kerrville, Texas for 9 months when getting cancer treatment. Beautiful little town. I lost weight because everything is fried and I don’t like fried food. They deep fry pickles. Lucy

  2. Ankush says:

    I need to come down to Texas once in my lifetime 🙂

    Cheers,
    Ankush,
    Catch my story on http://wheneveridontgetbored.blogspot.in/2014/09/fireflies.html

  3. yarnspinnerr says:

    You reminded me of old days …… days when i loved reading western. Great work.

  4. Gosh, I’ve got friends who live in Texas. I’d better warn them about the stranger. 🙂 Fun story.

    janet

  5. Dear Lucy,

    The stranger must’ve been Clint Eastwood. 😉 Straight out of a western. Love it!

    Shalom,

    Rochelle

  6. Nan Falkner says:

    Dear Lucy, Wow, I think ‘Paint’ doesn’t want to stay with the horse rustlers. I love Texas, been there many times! My twin lives in Houston and when you drive from Kansas City down there (it takes 14 + hours) when you get to Dallas, you start seeing billboards for Buck Buck Buckies! It is a huge rest stop that is so well advertised all the way to Houston (another 5 hours). Boy, I do talk a lot don’t I. Love your story! Nan 🙂

    • Lucy says:

      Thanks, Nan. I underwent some of my cancer treatment and surgery in Texas. Kerrville, Texas. Nice little town in the Hill Country. Great hospital: you called room service and ordered anything off the menu any time. I just like to pick on Texas. It’s a whole other world. Glad you liked the story. Lucy

  7. Texas does need a better class of people, but that aside…
    Clint Eastwood would be great for the part, I think.

    Fun piece, Randy

  8. Lucy, Good story. My grandmother wintered a couple of years in San Antonio and just loved it. My dad drove Mom and me to Texas one year. We stopped in Dallas, and then we drove down to San Antonio to visit his friend. While in Dallas, I bought a couple of outfits at the big Neiman Marcus store there as I was working by then and had my own money. Well written. 🙂 —Susan

    • Lucy says:

      II lived in Texas for about a year. In Kerrville, about 40 minutes from San Antonio. I really liked San Antonio. And the town I was in is in the Hill Country. Very pretty place. I used to pick on my Texas friends but I ended up wearing boots and a cowboy hat. Love that hat. I would live in Neiman Marcus if they’d let me. Glad you liked the story. Sometimes these photo prompts leave you wondering what the heck you can write about. Thanks for coming by. Lucy

  9. That stranger must have ridden a pale horse… _:-)
    :-

    • Lucy says:

      Hey, Bjorn/ That would’ve been a better idea. I never thought of that: “And I looked, and behold a pale horse: and his name that sat on him was Death…” Well, I had Clint Eastwood in my head when I wrote the story. It would still work. He did star in “Pale Rider”.. Glad you stopped by. Lucy

  10. I heard crackling fires, horses snuffling, smelled the smoke – of the fire and the gun. Great dialogue.

  11. Kate Loveton says:

    The Sisters Grime strike again – on the same wave-length. 😀 Just saw this fun short story. You captured the laconic strangers of the old West who talked little but had the ability to take care of business. I love a good Western. Oddly enough, I wrote a tale of the West this week – and that is why I say we were on the same wave-length!

Seriously, tell me what you think

IMAGINATION WILL OFTEN CARRY US TO WORLDS THAT NEVER WERE. BUT WITHOUT IT WE GO NOWHERE.
Carl Sagan

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 154 other followers

Follow Sapient Chronicles on WordPress.com
Categories
Archives
Follow Sapient Chronicles on WordPress.com
Copyright Notice

© [Lucy Conrad] and [Sapient Chronicles], [2015-2016]. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to [Lucy Conrad] and [Sapient Chronicles] with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

September 2014
M T W T F S S
« Aug   Oct »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  

100 POSTS 9/08/14

Follow Sapient Chronicles on WordPress.com
Blog Stats
  • 4,231 hits
Legal Stuff

Creative Commons License
The Sapient Chronicles by Lucy Conrad is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivatives 4.0 International License.
Based on a work at conradlucy.wordpress.com.
Permissions beyond the scope of this license may be available at conradlucy.wordpress.com.

YeahWrite

Where your words matter.

Mrs Reckless Writes

Fiction, Almost-Truths & Not-Poetry

Bradscribe

A fine WordPress.com site

Habitat for Heavy Hearts

Small, Thoughtful Moments

Cognitive Reflection

Random Thoughts and Musings from London Town

Claire Fuller

Writing and art

Live to Write - Write to Live

We live to write and write to live ... professional writers talk about the craft and business of writing

Notes Tied On The Sagebrush

Writing About Life

BOOKING IT

Debra's Excellent Adventures in Reading and Travel

countingducks

reflections on a passing life

Hangaku Gozen

For we cannot tarry here, We must march my darlings

Anne Higa

Out-of-this-World Fantasy Author

bekindrewrite

write unto others as you would have them write unto you

This is Another Story

About life, fantasy, and everything in between

castelsarrasin

The work and activities of a writer/bargee

Yarnspinnerr

Just Fiction and other things that seem fictitious.

Odyssey of a Novice Writer

Aspiring novelist. Avid reader of fiction. Reviewer of books. By day, my undercover identity is that of meek, mild-mannered legal assistant, Kate Loveton, working in the confines of a stuffy corporate law office; by night, however, I'm a super hero: Kate Loveton, Aspiring Novelist and Spinner of Tales. My favorite words are 'Once upon a time... ' Won't you join me on my journey as I attempt to turn a hobby into something more?

First Night Design

Art, Design, Theatre, Literature, History, Food, Laughter ...

Enchanted Seashells by Princess Rosebud

Beguiling pearls of wit, wisdom, and whimsy-with attitude

The Zombie Blog

Surviving The Zombie Apocalypse

Ray Ferrer - Emotion on Canvas

** OFFICIAL Site of Artist Ray Ferrer **

Don Charisma

because anything is possible with Charisma

Hacker.Ninja.Hooker.Spy.

Some mistakes are too good not to share

Ben's Bitter Blog

"We make bitter better."

belsbror

Simple Living

Leaning on the Son

Inspired by Faith, Hope, Love and Him

Capture You Photography

Texas Style Portraits

Flamingo Dancer's Blog

If I am a goddess why are my feet stuck in the trenches?

Ned's Blog

Humor at the Speed of Life

Adventures in Wonderland

a pilgrimage of the heart

The Brantley Blog

In the eyes of the law, we reach adulthood the day we turn 18 years old. God help anyone who actually believes that.

Pouring My Art Out

Ripping out my guts for your entertainment

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

Mostly Bright Ideas

Some of these thoughts may make sense. But don't count on it.

A slight obsession with books

Reading and Fibrecrafts

Bad Anemone Press

Science is Funny by Dr. Jim Garvey

Thain in Vain

Mind the Glitches

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

