A Vivid Repast

Image

“Oh, what have we here? Some sort of putrefaction. Isabella, come see this.”

“That’s a good find, Oswald. The boa should be nearby. The regurgitate looks to be about 5 hours ago. It will be resting now. Mind the area around it. Whatever it was had a bit of fat, don’t you think?”

“Mm…it’s in that Acacia…lower branches. It’s a big one. Get the boys, will you, Isabella? We should be able to pull it from the branches. There’s nothing better than boa meat, bloated after its eaten its fill.”

“Oswald, you’ll eat anything, or anyone.”

“That’s a CROC, Isabella.”

***
Friday Fictioneers at Addicted to Purple
Word Count:  100

***
Photo Prompt:        Image

Copyright: Madison Woods

Many thanks to Rochelle Wisoff-Fields for hosting Friday Fictioneers. This was an unexpected photo prompt.  I was sobered gross–I had just one sip of morning coffee when I clicked on Rochelle’s site.  I changed my mind about eggs for breakfast.   This coming from a former forensic anthropologist. The original title, “Gag me with a ski pole” was finally replaced with less derelict diction.   Kudos, Dear Readers.

ImageImage

 

 

About

When I was a kid I wanted to be an "atomic" scientist. Not anything my mother expected of me. Well, I became a scientist, just not an atomic one.

Tagged with: , , , ,
Posted in crocodiles, fiction, flash fiction, Friday Fictioneers, horror, humor
18 comments on “A Vivid Repast
  1. Kate Loveton says:

    Oh, I thought this was a great take on the prompt, Lucy! Regurgitation by a boa – yuck! 😀 But a perfect idea. And a neat way to end it ‘That’s a CROC’ – loved that. Very imaginative.

    • Lucy says:

      thanks. Did you see that gross photo? I did not want a big old picture of that plastered on my blog. I nearly lost my cookies over that one and I used to be a forensic anthropologist. I used to volunteer at the Rio Grande Zoo in Albuquerque and would see such stuff in the reptile house, which I did not frequent that often. And, contrary to popular belief, snakes do not need to eat their prey live. Could you see some poor child watch a snake eat a live animal? Bad for business. Thanks again. Lucy

      • Kate Loveton says:

        Since you reside in Florida, you should take a day and go to the Animal Kingdom in Disney World. Take the ‘backstage’ tour of the Animal Kingdom and look at the kitchen where they prepare the daily food for the animals. First, the greens and vegetables are really something – could be served in a restaurant. But there’s a lot of creepy stuff, too, that animals eat… like frozen baby mice. Eewhh. Frozen, dead baby mice.

        I didn’t realize that snakes didn’t eat their prey live. I don’t like to get that close to ’em to find out. I almost stepped on a garter snake last week while walking the trail near the house. That was a little too close for comfort. Like Indiana Jones, I. HATE. SNAKES.

        It was a pretty gross photograph, I must say. I was contemplating a story about an alien life form when I saw it, but never got around to writing it. I think I like your idea much better.

      • Lucy says:

        Well, snakes do prefer their prey fresh but when you’re in captivity you take what you can get. Apparently one can order frozen mice online if one has a snake. Unfortunately, people have been leaving their large pythons and constricters in the Everglades. The snakes are supplanting the native fauna. They actually have round-ups to go in and capture/kill the snakes.

        It turned out that the gross photo we all found disgusting is actually a photo of a dead/dying grape vine. I find that hard to believe.

        There’s a count down on my blogs’ sidebars. I am going in for knee replacement surgery on Sept. 22. Not looking forward to it. Lucy

      • Kate Loveton says:

        Hi Lucy, just seeing this as I haven’t been blogging much since last Monday.

        I can well imagine you aren’t looking forward to the knee replacement surgery. A friend of mine had it done last year and rehab is tough. BUT having said that, you must do it – and if you do, you’ll then feel lots better. Right now, you’re probably in tremendous pain every time you take a step. Once you get past the rehab, life will greatly improve.

        I find it hard to believe that photo is of a dying grape vine, too. Seems too terribly yucky for that.

        I have read about the python problem in the Everglades. It is terrible! I’ve also read about the python round-ups. The problem is the snakes are very good at hiding, they reproduce in large numbers, and they have no predators to keep them in check. Even alligators have problems dealing with them.

        I have also read the snakes are adapting, and there are concerns they could migrate farther north – into Alabama, South Carolina. That’s disturbing!

        Geez… even garter snakes disturb me! 😀

      • Lucy says:

        Why people purchase or acquire such snakes as constrictors is beyond me. They know they’ll grow so large they can’t take care of them any longer and/or they become veangerous. These are the same people who think it’s fun to watch them eat a live animal.

        Yep. I am not happy about having the surgery but there is no other alternative. My knee is so bad and the bone spurs so extensive that they caused my leg to bow. The surgeon assured me that he can fix that during surgery. I simply wore out my knee and the arthritis did the rest. Unfortunately, the other knee is getting just as bad. He thinks maybe I have another year before I need a knee replacement on that one. It runs in the family. My mom had both knees done. Lucy

  2. I must say that a cuisine like that sounds quite bad… But I guess originality is sometimes needed ..

    • Lucy says:

      Well, yes, I have to agree. But crocodiles will eat anything, even their own kind. Nasty business, but Nature is harsh. Thanks for your input. I do appreciate you coming by. Lucy

  3. Sarah Ann says:

    Love the forensic analysis of the regurgitate and that it indicates a good meal to come.

    • Lucy says:

      Thank you. For some reason I still have a difficult time looking at that photo. If you noticed, I scaled it down quite a bit– I found many of the fictioneers did the same. Thanks again. I appreciate your comment. Lucy

  4. That’s a croc? Ha! Good one.

    janet

  5. Nan Falkner says:

    Dear Lucy, Great story and wonderful details. I don’t know much about the eating habits of snakes but I’m sure that would look like this gook. You are so smart Lucy, and it shows in your details. Nan 🙂

    • Lucy says:

      Thank you so much, Nan. What gook that is. I certainly would not take a photo of it unless it was needed for some research. That’s a pretty nasty picture. Thanks again, Nan. Lucy

  6. Isabella, come see this.” Love this line! So many times we invite people to look at something incredibly gross and they DO! Well done.

  7. Lucy, I read from a comment Madison Woods made on another blog that that stuff is from a cut grape vine. It’s still nasty looking even when you know what it is. Interesting story with great detail and ending. I started to get suspicious when there was talk of eating the snake. The ending made it clear. Well written. 🙂 —Susan

    • Lucy says:

      Thank you so much. That stuff is from a grape vine? It looks so much like fatty tissue and I swear I can see an eye in that goop. How fun, though. Yes, Oswald and Isabella are not members of our species. Thank you so much for coming by and commenting. I’m relieved in a way that the gross goop is not the remains of some animal. Namaste, Lucy

Seriously, tell me what you think

IMAGINATION WILL OFTEN CARRY US TO WORLDS THAT NEVER WERE. BUT WITHOUT IT WE GO NOWHERE.
Carl Sagan

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 154 other followers

Follow Sapient Chronicles on WordPress.com
Categories
Archives
Follow Sapient Chronicles on WordPress.com
Copyright Notice

© [Lucy Conrad] and [Sapient Chronicles], [2015-2016]. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to [Lucy Conrad] and [Sapient Chronicles] with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

August 2014
M T W T F S S
« Jul   Sep »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

100 POSTS 9/08/14

Follow Sapient Chronicles on WordPress.com
Blog Stats
  • 4,231 hits
Legal Stuff

Creative Commons License
The Sapient Chronicles by Lucy Conrad is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivatives 4.0 International License.
Based on a work at conradlucy.wordpress.com.
Permissions beyond the scope of this license may be available at conradlucy.wordpress.com.

YeahWrite

Where your words matter.

Mrs Reckless Writes

Fiction, Almost-Truths & Not-Poetry

Bradscribe

A fine WordPress.com site

Habitat for Heavy Hearts

Small, Thoughtful Moments

Cognitive Reflection

Random Thoughts and Musings from London Town

Claire Fuller

Writing and art

Live to Write - Write to Live

We live to write and write to live ... professional writers talk about the craft and business of writing

Notes Tied On The Sagebrush

Writing About Life

BOOKING IT

Debra's Excellent Adventures in Reading and Travel

countingducks

reflections on a passing life

Hangaku Gozen

For we cannot tarry here, We must march my darlings

Anne Higa

Out-of-this-World Fantasy Author

bekindrewrite

write unto others as you would have them write unto you

This is Another Story

About life, fantasy, and everything in between

castelsarrasin

The work and activities of a writer/bargee

Yarnspinnerr

Just Fiction and other things that seem fictitious.

Odyssey of a Novice Writer

Aspiring novelist. Avid reader of fiction. Reviewer of books. By day, my undercover identity is that of meek, mild-mannered legal assistant, Kate Loveton, working in the confines of a stuffy corporate law office; by night, however, I'm a super hero: Kate Loveton, Aspiring Novelist and Spinner of Tales. My favorite words are 'Once upon a time... ' Won't you join me on my journey as I attempt to turn a hobby into something more?

First Night Design

Art, Design, Theatre, Literature, History, Food, Laughter ...

Enchanted Seashells by Princess Rosebud

Beguiling pearls of wit, wisdom, and whimsy-with attitude

The Zombie Blog

Surviving The Zombie Apocalypse

Ray Ferrer - Emotion on Canvas

** OFFICIAL Site of Artist Ray Ferrer **

Don Charisma

because anything is possible with Charisma

Hacker.Ninja.Hooker.Spy.

Some mistakes are too good not to share

Ben's Bitter Blog

"We make bitter better."

belsbror

Simple Living

Leaning on the Son

Inspired by Faith, Hope, Love and Him

Capture You Photography

Texas Style Portraits

Flamingo Dancer's Blog

If I am a goddess why are my feet stuck in the trenches?

Ned's Blog

Humor at the Speed of Life

Adventures in Wonderland

a pilgrimage of the heart

The Brantley Blog

In the eyes of the law, we reach adulthood the day we turn 18 years old. God help anyone who actually believes that.

Pouring My Art Out

Ripping out my guts for your entertainment

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

Mostly Bright Ideas

Some of these thoughts may make sense. But don't count on it.

A slight obsession with books

Reading and Fibrecrafts

Bad Anemone Press

Science is Funny by Dr. Jim Garvey

Thain in Vain

Mind the Glitches

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

