Me, Myself, and I

For many years I  had certain expectations of my family.  However, as I grew up I realized how evasive my mother was about her past.  Both parents kept secrets from us kids.  Maybe they thought they were right in doing so.  But, when our expectations are pulled out from under us,  a part of our world falls apart.   My sister was in her forties when she obtained her birth certificate only to find her father was not our Dad.  The issue that bothered her the most was rejection.  The man she knew all her life as her father, never adopted her.  In that instant of discovery, she perceived a change in her world and her future.   My sister’s drama wasn’t the only play in town.  I have researched our ancestry online and I have found records which suggest there are more secrets and more lies.

Unfortunately, I’m on my own researching the family tree which is beginning to look less like an elegantly shaped tree and more like invasive shrubs.  My parents are both gone as well as their siblings.  Luckily I asked questions as a kid, so I’m relying on my childhood memories.  I was going to give up on tracking my ancestry– apparently almost all my ancestors  lived off the grid or every City Hall in New York burned down in the early 20th century– when I ran across this photo online.  It was serendipity actually.  I  was searching for photos of gardens and this photo popped up, clearly out of context.  I recognized her immediately.

Image

What’s so special about this image?  She’s me.  Okay, she’s the spitting image of me at that age– around 18-20 years old.   All right– I have green eyes and she “appears” to have brown eyes. Otherwise, we’re identical.  Only, that picture was taken over 100 years ago.  That would put her in the right time frame to be my maternal grandmother.  Strangely enough, my mother never had any pictures of her; never talked about her except to say she died when my mother was eleven.  And as far as vital records are concerned, there’s  nothing of my grandmother.  I had a difficult time just finding out my grandmother’s name!   There are so many secrets regarding my mother’s family.  My mother was the first American born child in her family, both parents coming from Russia in the early 1900’s.  Or, was she?  There are secrets there as well.

Currently, I am researching the identity of the young woman in the picture.   We all have certain expectations (assumptions, presumptions, anticipations, hopes for, etc.) about our parents, and our family.  These expectations are directly tied to our identity.   For one thing, I believed my mother– I never thought she would lie, particularly about from whom and where she came.  How naïve of me.    At the very least, I have expectations that I will find out what happened to my grandmother and I will discover whether the woman in the photo is my grandmother or, another relation, or a doppelgänger.  I’m still wracking my brain for a memory of posing for a photo dressed like this woman, with my hair done up and wearing brown contacts ( I did have brown contacts).  Nonetheless, if my expectations are not met, I’ll drive myself crazy with unending speculation about my Russian ancestors.  Did I happen to mention that I have obsessive-compulsive disorder?

DPChallenge:  Great ExpectationsImage

Word Count 562

 

About

When I was a kid I wanted to be an "atomic" scientist. Not anything my mother expected of me. Well, I became a scientist, just not an atomic one.

Tagged with: , , , ,
Posted in ancestry, DPchallenge, humor, secrets
5 comments on “Me, Myself, and I
  1. Doobster418 says:

    I am a first generation American. My mother and father came to the US from what is now the Ukraine, although they both regarded themselves as Russians and Russian was their native tongue. I was too self-absorbed and disinterested in my youth to ask questions about their youth and now they are both gone and it is one of my biggest regrets that I didn’t take the time to listen to their stories.

    • Lucy says:

      At least they had stories. Mine were very tight-lipped. I didn’t go into it in the story, but my Russian grandfather was married three times and outlived all his wives. I recently discovered that my mother’s mother was not the mother of my mom’s three brothers. And, my mother had a sister, apparently. Talk about a mess. And, why keep all this secret? I plan on posting my progress, but not until I’ve figured out more. Right now I only have bits and pieces. Lucy

  2. […] The Sapient Chronicles Me, Myself, and I […]

  3. […] The Sapient ChroniclesMe, Myself, and I […]

Seriously, tell me what you think

IMAGINATION WILL OFTEN CARRY US TO WORLDS THAT NEVER WERE. BUT WITHOUT IT WE GO NOWHERE.
Carl Sagan

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 155 other followers

Follow Sapient Chronicles on WordPress.com
Categories
Archives
Follow Sapient Chronicles on WordPress.com
Copyright Notice

© [Lucy Conrad] and [Sapient Chronicles], [2015-2016]. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to [Lucy Conrad] and [Sapient Chronicles] with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

April 2014
M T W T F S S
« Mar   May »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

100 POSTS 9/08/14

Follow Sapient Chronicles on WordPress.com
Blog Stats
  • 4,213 hits
Legal Stuff

Creative Commons License
The Sapient Chronicles by Lucy Conrad is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivatives 4.0 International License.
Based on a work at conradlucy.wordpress.com.
Permissions beyond the scope of this license may be available at conradlucy.wordpress.com.

YeahWrite

Where your words matter.

Nothing Gilded, Nothing Gained-Period Drama on Paper at Middlemay Farm

Fiction Books, History, Memoir by Adrienne Morris

Mrs Reckless Writes

Fiction, Almost-Truths & Not-Poetry

Bradscribe

A fine WordPress.com site

Habitat for Heavy Hearts

Small, Thoughtful Moments

Cognitive Reflection

Random Thoughts and Musings from London Town

Claire Fuller

Writing and art

Live to Write - Write to Live

We live to write and write to live ... professional writers talk about the craft and business of writing

Notes Tied On The Sagebrush

Writing About Life

BOOKING IT

Debra's Excellent Adventures in Reading and Travel

countingducks

reflections on a passing life

Hangaku Gozen

For we cannot tarry here, We must march my darlings

Anne Higa

Out-of-this-World Fantasy Author

bekindrewrite

write unto others as you would have them write unto you

This is Another Story

About life, fantasy, and everything in between

castelsarrasin

The work and activities of a writer/bargee

Yarnspinnerr

Just Fiction and other things that seem fictitious.

Odyssey of a Novice Writer

Aspiring novelist. Avid reader of fiction. Reviewer of books. By day, my undercover identity is that of meek, mild-mannered legal assistant, Kate Loveton, working in the confines of a stuffy corporate law office; by night, however, I'm a super hero: Kate Loveton, Aspiring Novelist and Spinner of Tales. My favorite words are 'Once upon a time... ' Won't you join me on my journey as I attempt to turn a hobby into something more?

First Night Design

Art, Design, Theatre, Literature, History, Food, Laughter ...

Enchanted Seashells by Princess Rosebud

Beguiling pearls of wit, wisdom, and whimsy-with attitude

The Zombie Blog

Surviving The Zombie Apocalypse

Ray Ferrer - Emotion on Canvas

** OFFICIAL Site of Artist Ray Ferrer **

Don Charisma

because anything is possible with Charisma

Hacker.Ninja.Hooker.Spy.

Some mistakes are too good not to share

Sonya Lira Photography

Texas Style Photography

Ben's Bitter Blog

"We make bitter better."

belsbror

Simple Living

Leaning on the Son

Inspired by Faith, Hope, Love and Him

Capture You Photography

Texas Style Portraits

Flamingo Dancer's Blog

If I am a goddess why are my feet stuck in the trenches?

Ned's Blog

Humor at the Speed of Life

Adventures in Wonderland

a pilgrimage of the heart

The Brantley Blog

In the eyes of the law, we reach adulthood the day we turn 18 years old. God help anyone who actually believes that.

Pouring My Art Out

Ripping out my guts for your entertainment

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

Mostly Bright Ideas

Some of these thoughts may make sense. But don't count on it.

A slight obsession with books

Reading and Fibrecrafts

Bad Anemone Press

Science is Funny by Dr. Jim Garvey

Thain in Vain

Mind the Glitches

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

