The Consultation

 

Copyright Douglas M. Macilroy

Copyright Douglas M. Macilroy

***

“Dr. Lewis, will my son be normal?”

“Mrs. Gladstone, if you mean by normal will your boy be an overachiever:  graduate from college, get a high paying job;  marry a classy woman and have beautiful, genius, children and belong to the Country Club?  That is considered exceptional...

Conversely, if you mean by normal will your son be a underachiever:  won’t finish high school,  lose his driver’s license;  is regularly unemployed, has a pregnant girlfriend with a couple of kids?  Unfortunately, these days that is normal.  Your son will never be exceptional, Mrs. Gladstone, but he will be normal.”

“Oh, good.”

***

Friday Fictioneers:  04/18/14
Word Count:  100

***
Many thanks to Rochelle Wisoff-Fields for hosting Friday Fictioneers.

 

About

When I was a kid I wanted to be an "atomic" scientist. Not anything my mother expected of me. Well, I became a scientist, just not an atomic one.

Tagged with: , , , ,
Posted in fiction, flash fiction, Friday Fictioneers, humor, Life
11 comments on “The Consultation
  1. Aint it the truth! Expectations are so often unrealistic. 😉

    • Lucy says:

      I was wondering if I was being a little too harsh with my social commentary through the doctor. Thanks so much for reading my story and I appreciate you commenting and affirming my criticism of current society. I must be careful, I can be very opinionated at times. Lucy

      • As writers, I’m not sure any of us should be careful… mindful, yes… but then, you have to be prepared for feedback that may not be supportive. Ultimately, I think it’s worth some heat, to speak your mind. I’m an opinionated person too. It won’t appeal to everyone, but I’m true to myself. 😉

  2. tedstrutz says:

    Okay… that was different! Nice.

    • Lucy says:

      Thank you. I’m a bit of a social critic and I have to watch myself. Thank you for reading my story and I appreciate all comments. Lucy

  3. Dear Lucy,

    I work with a lot of normal people. 😉 Good one.

    Shalom,

    Rochelle

  4. Nicely written. Your idea of the new normal is right on, I think. I don’t have kids but see many who think losing a drivers license, not finishing high school, and so on is almost expected (and did you mean lose a drivers license instead of lost? if not, ignore me.)

    • Lucy says:

      Yes, I mean losing a license. I don’t have kids either but what I’ve seen and heard is scary.and a shame. As an anthropologist I’ve met a lot of people. There are parents out there who get excited/happy because their 15 year old is having a baby. I’m afraid this way of thinking and living is locked into several generations. Oh, well. thanks for stopping by and reading my little story. I appreciate all comments. Lucy

  5. Good story and well written. I think sometimes people who appear happy to others are just making the best of what happens. They’re often not going to show their true feelings, especially when it comes to their children. If a baby is born out-of-wedlock to a teenager who is their child, it’s their grandchild, family, and they naturally love it. They sometimes don’t encourage marriage between the parents though because there’s a clear chance it might not last if the parents are that young.
    Also, you can’t force a child to go to college and do well. Perhaps they won’t need college to take up their chosen profession and it would be a waste of time and money for them. For instance, a talented mechanic would need to study at a trade school and perhaps have a better chance at a well-paying job than a college graduate. I had a cousin who repaired large rigs and he always had a well-paying job. He was in demand. He hadn’t even finished high school but was exceptionally talented at repairing trucks. Normal is different for each particular person. Each of us is different and we can’t be lumped together. I think some statistics are ridiculous. I also don’t believe all surveys. It depends on who’s being surveyed.

  6. Lucy says:

    Thank you for your commentary. Throughout my anthropology career I’ve always had to be politically correct– at all times. I never could put into print my opinions just my observations. I’m still a bit shy about expressing my point of view. And, my point of view changes as the years pass. I do appreciate your comments. it gives me information I can think about. Thank you for coming by. Lucy.

Seriously, tell me what you think

IMAGINATION WILL OFTEN CARRY US TO WORLDS THAT NEVER WERE. BUT WITHOUT IT WE GO NOWHERE.
Carl Sagan

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 154 other followers

Follow Sapient Chronicles on WordPress.com
Categories
Archives
Follow Sapient Chronicles on WordPress.com
Copyright Notice

© [Lucy Conrad] and [Sapient Chronicles], [2015-2016]. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to [Lucy Conrad] and [Sapient Chronicles] with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

April 2014
M T W T F S S
« Mar   May »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

100 POSTS 9/08/14

Follow Sapient Chronicles on WordPress.com
Blog Stats
  • 4,263 hits
Legal Stuff

Creative Commons License
The Sapient Chronicles by Lucy Conrad is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivatives 4.0 International License.
Based on a work at conradlucy.wordpress.com.
Permissions beyond the scope of this license may be available at conradlucy.wordpress.com.

YeahWrite

Where your words matter.

Mrs Reckless Writes

Fiction, Almost-Truths & Not-Poetry

Bradscribe

A fine WordPress.com site

Habitat for Heavy Hearts

Small, Thoughtful Moments

Cognitive Reflection

Random Thoughts and Musings from London Town

Claire Fuller

Writing and art

Live to Write - Write to Live

We live to write and write to live ... professional writers talk about the craft and business of writing

Notes Tied On The Sagebrush

Writing About Life

BOOKING IT

Debra's Excellent Adventures in Reading and Travel

countingducks

reflections on a passing life

Hangaku Gozen

For we cannot tarry here, We must march my darlings

Anne Higa

Out-of-this-World Fantasy Author

bekindrewrite

write unto others as you would have them write unto you

This is Another Story

About life, fantasy, and everything in between

castelsarrasin

The work and activities of a writer/bargee

Yarnspinnerr

Just Fiction and other things that seem fictitious.

Odyssey of a Novice Writer

Aspiring novelist. Avid reader of fiction. Reviewer of books. By day, my undercover identity is that of meek, mild-mannered legal assistant, Kate Loveton, working in the confines of a stuffy corporate law office; by night, however, I'm a super hero: Kate Loveton, Aspiring Novelist and Spinner of Tales. My favorite words are 'Once upon a time... ' Won't you join me on my journey as I attempt to turn a hobby into something more?

First Night Design

Art, Design, Theatre, Literature, History, Food, Laughter ...

Enchanted Seashells by Princess Rosebud

Beguiling pearls of wit, wisdom, and whimsy-with attitude

The Zombie Blog

Surviving The Zombie Apocalypse

Ray Ferrer - Emotion on Canvas

** OFFICIAL Site of Artist Ray Ferrer **

Don Charisma

because anything is possible with Charisma

Hacker.Ninja.Hooker.Spy.

Some mistakes are too good not to share

Ben's Bitter Blog

"We make bitter better."

belsbror

Simple Living

Leaning on the Son

Inspired by Faith, Hope, Love and Him

Capture You Photography

Texas Style Portraits

Flamingo Dancer's Blog

If I am a goddess why are my feet stuck in the trenches?

Ned's Blog

Humor at the Speed of Life

Adventures in Wonderland

a pilgrimage of the heart

The Brantley Blog

In the eyes of the law, we reach adulthood the day we turn 18 years old. God help anyone who actually believes that.

Pouring My Art Out

Ripping out my guts for your entertainment

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

Mostly Bright Ideas

Some of these thoughts may make sense. But don't count on it.

A slight obsession with books

Reading and Fibrecrafts

Bad Anemone Press

Science is Funny by Dr. Jim Garvey

Thain in Vain

Flash Fiction Writer

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

