Gunga Din and me

ImageI grew up in a family of devoted readers.  My history with books began with my mother reading to me, and most importantly, reading to me at bedtime.  I read so many books as a child.  I loved Grimm’s Fairy tales and  I remember savoring Pippi Longstocking books, and as I grew my tastes grew with me.   In second grade our teacher would end each day by reading to us.   “Gulliver’s Travels” carried me off on strange and splendid adventures.  I still remember the pleasant feeling of my teacher’s words building pictures in my mind.  I’d  close my eyes and I was standing on the stage of a grand world theater. of adventure,  mystery and wonder.  I coveted adventures:  expeditions into the African jungle, climbing Mt. Everest, or submarines diving deep into the ocean.   At some point during my first trip to the Amazon rainforest, I reminded myself that I was finally seeing that which once I had only imagined.  The Amazon had the burden of living up to a child’s vision.

My parents never put any restrictions on the books I read,  the TV programs I watched, nor the films I saw.  Once, when I was still in elementary school, my mother  met me at the public library and was waiting as the librarian checked out my selection of books, which included “Mein Kempf” and Winston Churchill’s “The River War” .   She chastised my mother for allowing me to read such books at my age.  My mother was outraged and reminded the woman that there were countries where no one could freely read anything and brought up the example of book burnings even in our own country.  I grew up watching old WWII movies on TV and it was perfectly natural for me to want to learn about the people and places depicted in the movies.
***

ImageI wasn’t much for poetry but I did have a few favorites such as Carryl’s “Walloping Window blind”, Kipling’s “Gunga Din” and Tennyson’s  “Charge of the Light Brigade”.   I was so excited when I discovered movies about Gunga Din, and the Light Brigade.  They made the words of those poems come alive.  My tastes became more sophisticated as I became a teenager and I preferred poems by Bob Dylan and Lawrence Durrell.   I tried writing poetry as a teen.  That didn’t last long.  I had not written a poem since I was a teen until recently when I wrote a few rhyming ditties just for fun.
***

In elementary and high schools I did the usual writing assignments.  I don’t remember anything significant.   When I was a teen, I did create a character and his world.  He was an inept, British adventurer.  The only one who read his story was my best friend, who passed away from cancer before she was forty.  In college and grad school I had to do a lot of writing, but it was all academic.  I continued through the years writing articles for journals and heavily detailed reports and grant proposals. Somewhere along the way my taste for casual writing  disappeared.

***
ImageIt was during my recent recovery from cancer that I considered writing.  A friend suggested I start a blog because I had so many adventures as an anthropologist.   So, I signed up for wordpress but I didn’t do anything for a solid year.  Not even pick a theme.  I received an email from wordpress congratulating me on my one year anniversary.  I quickly  set up the blog and my first post was about cancer treatment.  No one read it.  So I changed the blog to one for gardening and everything else.   Soon after I started my second blog– the one I originally wanted .   A blog of non-fiction, fiction– any genre that suits me at the time.   The thing that drives me most to write is twofold.  First is the importance of making clear those things which many people find too complex to  unravel  on their own.  If I can induce one person to say, “aha, that’s what that is” or  “that’s how that works”,  then I’ve done well.  The second, is to leave behind a piece of me, somewhere in cyberspace– my foot print in the cooling lava.
***

If you have a garden and a library, you have everything you need. –  Cicero

I have a lot of free time.  I write when I feel like it or when a writing challenge is due.   I work in my garden and I read a great deal, as I always have.  I feel that  I owe my imagination to H.G. Wells, Edgar Rice Burroughs, H Rider Haggard and Rudyard Kipling.  Imagination is the key to writing.  Mine was helped along by Allan Quatermain, Tarzan, Captain Nemo,  Gunga Din and a whole cast of characters who showed a child less than perfect lives, but admirably lived.  I’ve felt an association with Gunga Din ever since my brother first called me that  when I was a kid,  fetching things all day long for my older brother.  He always called me Gunga Din when he had an assignment for me.   He still does.

***

But of all the drinks I’ve drunk, I’m gratefullest to one from Gunga Din  – Kipling.Daily Post Weekly Writing Challenge:  Writerly ReflectionsImage

 

About

When I was a kid I wanted to be an "atomic" scientist. Not anything my mother expected of me. Well, I became a scientist, just not an atomic one.

Tagged with: ,
Posted in books, DPchallenge, humor
9 comments on “Gunga Din and me
  1. I hope your recovery is going well. Your friend gave you healing advice – writing and sending out in the universe is a confident and positive step forward. Your wealth of knowledge is a great template for story contemplation. Characters are splendid company when we want to be alone with our thoughts. I wish you well and days of peace and happy writing.
    AnnMarie
    new blogger and well wisher

    • Lucy says:

      Thank you AnnMarie. And welcome to the blogosphere. Enjoy yourself here– your fellow bloggers are fun and talented and willing to help if you need it. Call on me if you need a cup of sugar or an adjective or whatever. Lucy

      • Many thanks, Lucy. I do sincerely hope you’re doing well. And I just may take you up on the offer if ever I’m lost for the perfect phrase…or a cup of sugar 🙂
        AnnMarie

  2. […] Gunga Din and me | The Sapient Chronicles […]

  3. […] Gunga Din and me | The Sapient Chronicles […]

Seriously, tell me what you think

IMAGINATION WILL OFTEN CARRY US TO WORLDS THAT NEVER WERE. BUT WITHOUT IT WE GO NOWHERE.
Carl Sagan

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 154 other followers

Follow Sapient Chronicles on WordPress.com
Categories
Archives
Follow Sapient Chronicles on WordPress.com
Copyright Notice

© [Lucy Conrad] and [Sapient Chronicles], [2015-2016]. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to [Lucy Conrad] and [Sapient Chronicles] with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

March 2014
M T W T F S S
« Feb   Apr »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

100 POSTS 9/08/14

Follow Sapient Chronicles on WordPress.com
Blog Stats
  • 4,260 hits
Legal Stuff

Creative Commons License
The Sapient Chronicles by Lucy Conrad is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivatives 4.0 International License.
Based on a work at conradlucy.wordpress.com.
Permissions beyond the scope of this license may be available at conradlucy.wordpress.com.

YeahWrite

Where your words matter.

Mrs Reckless Writes

Fiction, Almost-Truths & Not-Poetry

Bradscribe

A fine WordPress.com site

Habitat for Heavy Hearts

Small, Thoughtful Moments

Cognitive Reflection

Random Thoughts and Musings from London Town

Claire Fuller

Writing and art

Live to Write - Write to Live

We live to write and write to live ... professional writers talk about the craft and business of writing

Notes Tied On The Sagebrush

Writing About Life

BOOKING IT

Debra's Excellent Adventures in Reading and Travel

countingducks

reflections on a passing life

Hangaku Gozen

For we cannot tarry here, We must march my darlings

Anne Higa

Out-of-this-World Fantasy Author

bekindrewrite

write unto others as you would have them write unto you

This is Another Story

About life, fantasy, and everything in between

castelsarrasin

The work and activities of a writer/bargee

Yarnspinnerr

Just Fiction and other things that seem fictitious.

Odyssey of a Novice Writer

Aspiring novelist. Avid reader of fiction. Reviewer of books. By day, my undercover identity is that of meek, mild-mannered legal assistant, Kate Loveton, working in the confines of a stuffy corporate law office; by night, however, I'm a super hero: Kate Loveton, Aspiring Novelist and Spinner of Tales. My favorite words are 'Once upon a time... ' Won't you join me on my journey as I attempt to turn a hobby into something more?

First Night Design

Art, Design, Theatre, Literature, History, Food, Laughter ...

Enchanted Seashells by Princess Rosebud

Beguiling pearls of wit, wisdom, and whimsy-with attitude

The Zombie Blog

Surviving The Zombie Apocalypse

Ray Ferrer - Emotion on Canvas

** OFFICIAL Site of Artist Ray Ferrer **

Don Charisma

because anything is possible with Charisma

Hacker.Ninja.Hooker.Spy.

Some mistakes are too good not to share

Ben's Bitter Blog

"We make bitter better."

belsbror

Simple Living

Leaning on the Son

Inspired by Faith, Hope, Love and Him

Capture You Photography

Texas Style Portraits

Flamingo Dancer's Blog

If I am a goddess why are my feet stuck in the trenches?

Ned's Blog

Humor at the Speed of Life

Adventures in Wonderland

a pilgrimage of the heart

The Brantley Blog

In the eyes of the law, we reach adulthood the day we turn 18 years old. God help anyone who actually believes that.

Pouring My Art Out

Ripping out my guts for your entertainment

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

Mostly Bright Ideas

Some of these thoughts may make sense. But don't count on it.

A slight obsession with books

Reading and Fibrecrafts

Bad Anemone Press

Science is Funny by Dr. Jim Garvey

Thain in Vain

Flash Fiction Writer

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

