Chasing pool boys

ImageMen talk of killing time, while time quietly kills them. – Dion Boucicault
***
The golden years seem to have been thrust upon me much too soon. It is not reasonable that I and so many, have to tolerate aging while youth is being wasted on the young. When I was a teenager, like any other dark, morbid, moody teenager, I never thought I would make it this far.  I bragged to fellow teens that I would be dead by the time I reached thirty.  It was the thing to say then, very avant-garde. Once I reached that inevitable number, the bragging did not stop but the number changed to fifty. Now I’ve moved it up to eighty, perhaps the final number. The number I fear the most above all others. It is the number that places me upon the shortest of all paths. Whenever I see an elderly person– white hair, wizened and stooped, shuffling past– I think of the film,  Dead Man Walking

Everything happens to everybody sooner or later if there is time enough. – George Bernard Shaw

When my mother was alive and in an assisted living home, every time I called her and asked her how she was doing she would answer, “just waiting to die, dear.”  I would say something witty or chastise her for being dreary.  She died last year at the age of 99.  She never anticipated living so long.  There was no dignity in the last years of her life.  Everything was taken away from her:  hearing, eyesight, mobility and her health.  It was almost as if she was de-evolving:  folding in on herself until she was but a small pile of dried bone. It seems to me that is the human condition:  aging to the point of welcoming death.  Aging wouldn’t be so bad if you have your health.  I realize it’s a cliché but from what I’ve seen it is a fact. I moved to Florida last year. There are a lot of elderly people here. Floridians call their state Heaven’s waiting room.  I had Stage III cancer and endured a great deal to beat it.  It has left me disabled.  I feel as though I’m retired and so, I fit right in, except I’m usually the “youngster”  in the doctor’s waiting room.  For awhile I wondered if there were any children at all in Florida. It was beginning to get a bit Twilight Zonish, if you know what I mean.  Before cancer I had an active life as a biological anthropologist. My best friend, who survived Catholic girls school with me, would talk about how we would retire together.  We’d live in Florida by the Gulf and chase pool boys in our wheel chairs.  We would be “dirty old women”.  Now I’m here by the Gulf but she won’t be coming.  She died from cancer.  I have yet to chase a pool boy.

Time moves in one direction, memory in another. – William Gibson

I think each generation lays claim to being the better generation, or at least, a simpler time and at the same time claiming they had it harder. When I look back, I’m reminded of all those road trips my folks made me suffer through. Yet, every one of those trips were for my benefit.  I played outside except rainy days I was inside, reading or watching movies on our black and white TV, such as Abbott and Costello, or Francis the talking mule.  My folks and I would play board games or cards.  My father would construct my school projects.  My mother would bake for the bake sales and sew costumes for me for the school plays in which I performed. For eight years she dragged me to tap dancing and ballet lessons. There were extravagant recitals on the Masonic Temple’s massive stage.  My generation’s “pop culture” went from Beatniks to Beatles to hippies and the Viet Nam War. I’ve seen the first astronaut ride a rocket and the first humans on the moon.  And, I was at Woodstock.

Life is what happens to you while you’re busy making other plans. – John Lennon

We didn’t have the technological advances then that we have now.  Kids used to play outside most of the time. Now kids rely on computers and cell phones; video games and cable TV to occupy them.  Kids are under pressure to keep up with technology, from their schools and peers. Yes, I can affirm that I grew up in a simpler time.  It would have been nice to have had a laptop and printer through high school and college, and I do enjoy video games.  But I wouldn’t trade my childhood for any of it.  My parents expended a lot of  middle-aged/senior energy into making me a well-rounded person.  I never thanked them for the effort they put into raising me.

Lost time is never found again. – Benjamin Franklin

********************

Daily Post Weekly Writing Challenge:  Golden YearsImage

About

When I was a kid I wanted to be an "atomic" scientist. Not anything my mother expected of me. Well, I became a scientist, just not an atomic one.

Tagged with: , , ,
Posted in DPchallenge, Golden Years, humor, nostalgia
2 comments on “Chasing pool boys
  1. I think the older most people live the less dignity they will have. Living to the age of 99 is really a long time and is great in many ways. Some people have their bodies some have their minds and some have neither I guess we can only hope for the best as we all age. I loved being outside as a kid and still do as a adult. It makes me sad to see children cooped up in a house watching tv, movies or playing video games all the time. Being outdoors opens up your mind and allows your imagination to flow.

    • Lucy says:

      I totally agree. It was hard knowing my mother was so miserable. And yes, kids need to be outside playing baseball, basketball, playing pirates, whatever. Maybe if kids got away from their video games and computers they wouldn’t have ADD.

Seriously, tell me what you think

IMAGINATION WILL OFTEN CARRY US TO WORLDS THAT NEVER WERE. BUT WITHOUT IT WE GO NOWHERE.
Carl Sagan

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 154 other followers

Follow Sapient Chronicles on WordPress.com
Categories
Archives
Follow Sapient Chronicles on WordPress.com
Copyright Notice

© [Lucy Conrad] and [Sapient Chronicles], [2015-2016]. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to [Lucy Conrad] and [Sapient Chronicles] with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

March 2014
M T W T F S S
« Feb   Apr »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

100 POSTS 9/08/14

Follow Sapient Chronicles on WordPress.com
Blog Stats
  • 4,263 hits
Legal Stuff

Creative Commons License
The Sapient Chronicles by Lucy Conrad is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivatives 4.0 International License.
Based on a work at conradlucy.wordpress.com.
Permissions beyond the scope of this license may be available at conradlucy.wordpress.com.

YeahWrite

Where your words matter.

Mrs Reckless Writes

Fiction, Almost-Truths & Not-Poetry

Bradscribe

A fine WordPress.com site

Habitat for Heavy Hearts

Small, Thoughtful Moments

Cognitive Reflection

Random Thoughts and Musings from London Town

Claire Fuller

Writing and art

Live to Write - Write to Live

We live to write and write to live ... professional writers talk about the craft and business of writing

Notes Tied On The Sagebrush

Writing About Life

BOOKING IT

Debra's Excellent Adventures in Reading and Travel

countingducks

reflections on a passing life

Hangaku Gozen

For we cannot tarry here, We must march my darlings

Anne Higa

Out-of-this-World Fantasy Author

bekindrewrite

write unto others as you would have them write unto you

This is Another Story

About life, fantasy, and everything in between

castelsarrasin

The work and activities of a writer/bargee

Yarnspinnerr

Just Fiction and other things that seem fictitious.

Odyssey of a Novice Writer

Aspiring novelist. Avid reader of fiction. Reviewer of books. By day, my undercover identity is that of meek, mild-mannered legal assistant, Kate Loveton, working in the confines of a stuffy corporate law office; by night, however, I'm a super hero: Kate Loveton, Aspiring Novelist and Spinner of Tales. My favorite words are 'Once upon a time... ' Won't you join me on my journey as I attempt to turn a hobby into something more?

First Night Design

Art, Design, Theatre, Literature, History, Food, Laughter ...

Enchanted Seashells by Princess Rosebud

Beguiling pearls of wit, wisdom, and whimsy-with attitude

The Zombie Blog

Surviving The Zombie Apocalypse

Ray Ferrer - Emotion on Canvas

** OFFICIAL Site of Artist Ray Ferrer **

Don Charisma

because anything is possible with Charisma

Hacker.Ninja.Hooker.Spy.

Some mistakes are too good not to share

Ben's Bitter Blog

"We make bitter better."

belsbror

Simple Living

Leaning on the Son

Inspired by Faith, Hope, Love and Him

Capture You Photography

Texas Style Portraits

Flamingo Dancer's Blog

If I am a goddess why are my feet stuck in the trenches?

Ned's Blog

Humor at the Speed of Life

Adventures in Wonderland

a pilgrimage of the heart

The Brantley Blog

In the eyes of the law, we reach adulthood the day we turn 18 years old. God help anyone who actually believes that.

Pouring My Art Out

Ripping out my guts for your entertainment

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

Mostly Bright Ideas

Some of these thoughts may make sense. But don't count on it.

A slight obsession with books

Reading and Fibrecrafts

Bad Anemone Press

Science is Funny by Dr. Jim Garvey

Thain in Vain

Flash Fiction Writer

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

