Does the noise in my head bother you?

“And those who were seen dancing were thought to be insane by those who could not hear the music”. – Friedrich Nietzsche

Neitzsche

Neitzsche

Have you ever had a song stuck in your head? Sometimes it hangs around for a relatively short time: a few hours, a day or two or maybe a little longer? It’s called an earworm.  It’s not a real worm.  It’s a musical memory that will not stop playing in your head.  I was afflicted with  an  endless melody for 5 weeks.  It finally faded,  but just when I think it’s gone, there it is again, doing its best to spoil my day.

rare image of earworm

rare image of earworm

I tried all manner of things to distract my mind– interrupt the repetition.  I attempted to replace the song with another, hoping that would break the hold it had on me and its ability to evoke my active participation. No luck   I felt I was doomed to sing that song in my head until I snapped and had to be taken away in an ambulance to a place where the doors are locked  behind me and I don’t have a key.  I knew only a few words and was surprised I knew any at all. I was so preoccupied with struggling to fill in the gaps   Ultimately  I decided to meet the demon head on– try the hair of  the dog that bit me, so to speak.images60

I went on the internet (a common phrase, as if the internet is a place, or maybe even a conveyance of some sort ) and researched the song, “See you in September“, by TheTempos, 1959. Later, in 1966 it was revamped (the beat was taken up a few notches) and released by The Happenings. I didn’t even know these groups. The Happenings are still alive and together. I found them on YouTube— in a video of them performing on a cruise ship.  If nothing else, the video provided me with the missing words of the song so there would be no impediment for the earworm to properly drive me mad.

Surprisingly, The Tempos‘ version of the song was showcased in the 1973 film, “American Graffiti“– a classic film, I’m ashamed to say I’ve never seen.  I watched a video clip of that part of the movie employing the song  and, I have to admit, I prefer The Happenings‘ version. It’s the one that’s been in my head. I don’t have any idea where I picked up the earworm, but it does know my taste for rhythm.

The Happenings

The Happenings

Individuals who acquire earworms often pick them up in passing– without conscious recognition..  The offending melody could be with or without lyrics (most often with) and could be background music at a restaurant or store or even on a radio from a passing car. Television commercials with their musical slogans and catchy tunes are notorious for instigating earworms..

lobotomy and a shave please

lobotomy and a shave please

A popular justification  for individuals repeatedly suffering from earworms is that  anxiety is to blame and that persons with OCD (obsessive compulsive disorder) are the most likely to  develop the condition. It has something to do with the acuity of an individual’s “musical memory”, but let’s not go into that right now. I promised myself that I wouldn’t lapse into academic mode. I’ve faltered a bit and I apologize.

Is that the macarena?

Is that the macarena?

Unfortunately there are no preventative measures that one can take to keep from being infected by earworms other than a lobotomy. We could produce young who never hear music and put them on a remote deserted island or a mountaintop in the Caucasus and deprive them of any form of music. I believe there was a Star Trek episode that addressed this same issue for different reasons. It didn’t work in their advanced culture–doubt it would work in ours.

In my opinion, the best protection would be to decrease the amount of time the offending melody spends in a person’s head– by early intervention– by engaging the victim’s memory in mentally challenging tasks.  Even reading a book would help. These are the things I wasn’t doing, for whatever reasons, prior to my 5 weeks of musical torment.   Maybe our brains have to be gainfully occupied or they succumb to something else that will occupy them. Our brains didn’t get to be as large and complex by being idyll.  That means less vegging, more blogging.

“None but ourselves can free our minds” – Bob Marley

Marley

Marley

About

When I was a kid I wanted to be an "atomic" scientist. Not anything my mother expected of me. Well, I became a scientist, just not an atomic one.

Tagged with: , , , , , ,
Posted in earworm, humor

Seriously, tell me what you think

IMAGINATION WILL OFTEN CARRY US TO WORLDS THAT NEVER WERE. BUT WITHOUT IT WE GO NOWHERE.
Carl Sagan

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 154 other followers

Follow Sapient Chronicles on WordPress.com
Categories
Archives
Follow Sapient Chronicles on WordPress.com
Copyright Notice

© [Lucy Conrad] and [Sapient Chronicles], [2015-2016]. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to [Lucy Conrad] and [Sapient Chronicles] with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

November 2013
M T W T F S S
    Dec »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
252627282930  

100 POSTS 9/08/14

Follow Sapient Chronicles on WordPress.com
Blog Stats
  • 4,224 hits
Legal Stuff

Creative Commons License
The Sapient Chronicles by Lucy Conrad is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivatives 4.0 International License.
Based on a work at conradlucy.wordpress.com.
Permissions beyond the scope of this license may be available at conradlucy.wordpress.com.

YeahWrite

Where your words matter.

Mrs Reckless Writes

Fiction, Almost-Truths & Not-Poetry

Bradscribe

A fine WordPress.com site

Habitat for Heavy Hearts

Small, Thoughtful Moments

Cognitive Reflection

Random Thoughts and Musings from London Town

Claire Fuller

Writing and art

Live to Write - Write to Live

We live to write and write to live ... professional writers talk about the craft and business of writing

Notes Tied On The Sagebrush

Writing About Life

BOOKING IT

Debra's Excellent Adventures in Reading and Travel

countingducks

reflections on a passing life

Hangaku Gozen

For we cannot tarry here, We must march my darlings

Anne Higa

Out-of-this-World Fantasy Author

bekindrewrite

write unto others as you would have them write unto you

This is Another Story

About life, fantasy, and everything in between

castelsarrasin

The work and activities of a writer/bargee

Yarnspinnerr

Just Fiction and other things that seem fictitious.

Odyssey of a Novice Writer

Aspiring novelist. Avid reader of fiction. Reviewer of books. By day, my undercover identity is that of meek, mild-mannered legal assistant, Kate Loveton, working in the confines of a stuffy corporate law office; by night, however, I'm a super hero: Kate Loveton, Aspiring Novelist and Spinner of Tales. My favorite words are 'Once upon a time... ' Won't you join me on my journey as I attempt to turn a hobby into something more?

First Night Design

Art, Design, Theatre, Literature, History, Food, Laughter ...

The Zombie Blog

Surviving The Zombie Apocalypse

Ray Ferrer - Emotion on Canvas

** OFFICIAL Site of Artist Ray Ferrer **

Don Charisma

because anything is possible with Charisma

Hacker.Ninja.Hooker.Spy.

Some mistakes are too good not to share

Ben's Bitter Blog

"We make bitter better."

belsbror

Simple Living

Leaning on the Son

Inspired by Faith, Hope, Love and Him

Capture You Photography

Texas Style Portraits

Flamingo Dancer's Blog

If I am a goddess why are my feet stuck in the trenches?

Ned's Blog

Humor at the Speed of Life

Adventures in Wonderland

a pilgrimage of the heart

The Brantley Blog

In the eyes of the law, we reach adulthood the day we turn 18 years old. God help anyone who actually believes that.

Pouring My Art Out

Ripping out my guts for your entertainment

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

Mostly Bright Ideas

Some of these thoughts may make sense. But don't count on it.

A slight obsession with books

Reading and Fibrecrafts

Bad Anemone Press

Science is Funny by Dr. Jim Garvey

Thain in Vain

Mind the Glitches

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

